Digital Artefact & Contexual Essay

Concept

My digital artefact is about puzzle video games. I wanted to find more on one of the most popular puzzle video games called “candy crush”. I wanted to find out the reasons what makes it so popular? , How do people addicted to it? and What are the tricks that people get engaged with in the game? I also want wanted to like what impact does this game has on society. Since I was curious about all these questions and I heard about it all that it trains human beings mind. Therefore, I choose my topic as puzzle video games to enhance my understanding of it.

Methodology

To find out all my queries, I did research. I included a research paper from the scholars and also some news articles. I collected around 6-7 articles in which I used four of them as they were closely related to my topic. Moreover, I chose the method of autoethnography as I have played this game before and I was addicted to it. Thus, I want to know do people have a similar reason as me for paying for this game.

Background research

Blog 1 : https://ck15blog.wordpress.com/2021/02/26/research-on-the-puzzle-video-games-candy-crush/

It talks about the history of candy crush like how it was developed. It also talks further about how it got to the peak suddenly in the year 2016 by just listening to the public feedback and working accordingly. It talks about the yearly revenue of the game as well. Like, how much do the developers earn and how do they earn.

Blog 2 : https://ck15blog.wordpress.com/2021/02/26/part-2-research-on-the-puzzle-video-games-candy-crush/

It talks about the factors of addiction and the engagement of people with the game. It talks about in-depth what I found. I found out that it satisfy people’s desires and the more and more challenging levels make them play more. It also connects people with their social circle.

Blog 3 : https://ck15blog.wordpress.com/2021/03/26/research-blog-3-impact-on-society/

It talks about what impact could this game have on society. I have found out that too much connection can also have a bad impact. It talks more in-depth about both good and bad impacts.

Utility

My research will highly be beneficial for players, developers, researchers and the general public. Since I am exploring the addiction and the engagement with the game. Thus, my research will increase the knowledge o the different stakeholders I have mentioned. It will also make them understand all the factors I have discovered. They will also goods and bad about the game. Therefore, my research will enhance their knowledge about the game.

Trajectory , Limitation & Success

While researching my digital artefact , I have made few changes. In my pitch, there was not adequate information about my topic. Like, paratext and marketing strategy was missing. I haven’t discussed the lecture content too. However, in the beta presentation and my final digital artefact, I have collected resources from scholars and lecture notes. I have tried to use fewer news articles as I think scholarly research papers are academic and have depth about the topic. Moreover, I have also made changes according to the tutor and my classmate’s comments. While researching, I have learnt about researching and got to enhance my general knowledge of this game which I have been playing for a long. I was able to clear out my queries.

Published by Kaur Chaman

STUDENT OF BCM AT UOW COLLEGE! :)

One thought on “Digital Artefact & Contexual Essay

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started